Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Heat tape on fresh water hose

Default Heat tape on fresh water hose

I'm going to make up a cold weather fresh water hose. My question is what type of heat tape do you use on the water hose? I checked out heat tape in a number of stores. Reading the instructions it says not to use on flexible hose. Only use on hard plastic or metal pipe.

Also what size of pipe insulation do you use after putting the heat tape on?

Lastly, I noticed one type of heat tape you wrapped around the pipe and another type stated not to wrap around the pipe. Is one type better than another? I've never used heat tape before so it's all new to me.

Appreciate any suggestions and comments you have on this subject.

I did check old posts and found a lot of people using heat tape ,but wanted to make sure I get the right type. I have a feeling you're using what I've been looking at and just making it work.

Thanks,
    Safe Travels,

orkirk

I have been wintering in Kansas for the last 4 yrs and I just use the heat tape available in lowes or home depot. I do not wrap it around my hose, just tape it about every foot or so. I then use the pipe insulation necessary for my hose size. Make sure you leave enough heat tape at the ends to wrap around the spigot and around your connections. Good luck, Rick

I just use what is available at the hardware store too. I think it says rigid pipe only. What I have found is that pipe insulation is the biggest help. Just using that will protect you overnight (without waterflow) down to the low 20s. The heat tape works but I've had it freeze using it too.
    2008 F-450
    2007 ES 36RE3 (3702) Traded for SOB May 11

Default Thanks for your help!

Thanks for your help! It helps to run things by the people that's been there and done that.

Safe Travels,
    orkirk

I used the roof overhang heat tape(gutter guard) one year because I had to run over 50' from my faucet to my suite.
    50' of reg. heat tape will get pretty expensive.